Apple knows how to design user interfaces so that you are hooked. Let’s take iCloud setup on Mac OS X for example.
I was figuring out how it works and taking it to use for the first time. The iCloud preference dialog stated there was 5 GB available and that my Documents & Data was selected. My first reaction was that I don’t want to sync all my Documents & Data – I was just want to figure out what this and if I could use it for syncing iPhoto.
I clicked on the Documents & Data to disable it.
“If you turn off Documents & Data, all documents stored in iCloud will be removed from this Mac.”
What are you removing from my Mac? My Documents folder?
Lesson: if the user tries to stop using your service then make vague threads about deleting user’s data to ensure loyalty.